May 17: A Day to Remember

As I’m writing this, I realize my title sounds like May 17 is some important historical day of remembering, but that’s kind of wrong. Actually, I just had two of the most amazing days of my life on May 17 of 2011 and 2012. Here’s a quick recap on this loveliest of anniversaries.

May 17, 2011

On May 17 of both 2011 and 2012, I was fortunate enough to be in New York City to see How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying on Broadway. Because of a family friend, attending these shows was much more than just a fun audience experience — I was able to go backstage both times. Not only was standing on a Broadway stage a great new experience, I was able to meet some of my very favorite celebrities. Here are a few photos of the 2011 experience:

    DSCN6599   How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, starring Daniel Radcliffe and Tony winner John Larroquette.

DSCN6545 (2)

Standing backstage meeting Daniel Radcliffe (!!!!!) the first time.

DSCN6605 (2)

May 18: back at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre to stand at the stage door to meet Daniel again since I forgot to have him sign anything or take a picture with me. (I was flustered.) Standing at the stage door also allowed us to meet/see Daniel’s parents, Chandra Wilson of Grey’s Anatomy, Matthew Broderick, and Sarah Jessica Parker.

DSCN6589

The most insane of surprises: standing on a sidewalk to see Ralph Fiennes (aka Voldemort) exit a car to go see a Broadway play. The play happened to be next door to How to Succeed where Daniel was performing. I still have trouble wrapping my head around this.

DSCN6626 (2)

And finally, a document of one of the greatest moments of my life. If I could ever travel back in time, it would be to this moment. Daniel Radcliffe was one of the nicest celebrities I’ve ever met, and this was absolutely a childhood dream come true.

May 17, 2012

DSCN7740

A quick flashback to May 16, 2012: we waited at the stage door of Death of a Salesman which was directly across the street from our hotel to see Andrew Garfield. He couldn’t have been nicer. We also saw Laura Linney entering the stage door to go see Philip Seymour Hoffman who was also starring in the show.

DSCN7756

Back to May 17: We first attended the Broadway Show League baseball game to see the How to Succeed and Once/Death of a Salesman teams play each other. Nick Jonas was captain of the How to Succeed team, as he was the current lead in the show. We somehow managed to sit on the bleachers with the team to watch the game, which was a really, REALLY fun experience.

DSCN7723

Unfortunately, we had to leave the baseball game early, but it was for a good reason: we got tickets to attend The Late Show with David Letterman! Waiting in line to go in wasn’t fun, but the show definitely was. The guests were Conan O’Brian and Regina Spektor, and John Mayer was there to play with the house band. Definitely a worth-while experience.

DSCN7776

And again, the best moment of the trip: standing on stage meeting Nick Jonas. I have no shame in saying that I’ve been a HUGE Jonas Brothers fan for many years, so once we found out about Nick taking over the lead role in this show, we knew that making another trip was necessary. I’ve been amazingly lucky.

Leave a Reply

