My Summer Must List

Happy Memorial Day!

As we’re approaching the official beginning of summer, I decided it might be nice to share my thoughts on the “musts” of the season. As a college student, I think the summers are perfect for binge-watching TV shows and movies, which is exactly how I intend to spend my summer (though I’m also doing some productive things like taking a class and writing my Thesis project. Whatever.). So, here’s my list of the most important pop culture-related subjects of the season.

This is the End

1. This is the End

I think I’m kind of irrationally excited for this movie, but who wouldn’t be? This is the End features a stellar cast playing themselves, which I can’t wait to see, especially Emma Watson. I think it’s great to see her in new roles, and I’m very interested to see her working her comedic skills. And the fact that Danny McBride refers to her as Hermione in the movie trailer makes my heart happy. This is the End opens nationwide June 12.

TB6_Poster_3.indd

2. True Blood

It’s safe to say that True Blood is my TV guilty pleasure, and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I did a MAJOR binge watch of this show over my winter break from school, which actually included me watching three seasons in three days. Yeah, I was obsessed. I can’t wait for the start of season six next month (the premiere is Sunday, June 16 at 9), especially to see how the story moves on now that Alan Ball won’t be around and Bill has (possibly?) turned evil.

Tony Awards

3. The Tony Awards

The Tonys aren’t for everybody, which  I understand. However, in my opinion, you can’t go wrong with an evening of singing, dancing, and Neil Patrick Harris. I’m mildly disappointed with the nominees this year, but it’s always a fun show. Tune in to CBS for the show on Sunday, June 9 at 8/7c.

And the Mountains Echoed

4. And the Mountains Echoed, Khaled Hosseini

I can’t wait to read Hosseini’s newest novel, which is already in stores. I fell in love with The Kite Runner a few summers ago, but I haven’t yet read A Thousand Splendid Suns. I definitely plan to catch up on these books this summer.

TV shows

5. TV binge-watching

Okay, it’s not like I don’t watch TV year-round, but there’s something about the freedom of summer that makes me feel less guilty about it. This summer I plan to do as much of it as possible before I return to the constraints of school in August. I’ve already done my rewatch of Freaks and Geeks, and I’m now about halfway through the third season of Six Feet Under. Also on my summer’s bucket list: season four of Arrested Development (obviously), Lost, The Wonder Years, Veep, and Twin Peaks. I’m not sure how long that could all take, so that list could either grow or dwindle; either way, I’ll be spending some serious time in front of the TV this summer. If anyone is looking for recommendations, my top picks are Breaking Bad, Bates Motel, and Downton Abbey for days when you don’t want to leave your bed.

Despicable Me 2

6. Despicable Me 2

The Despicable Me sequel could possibly be what I’m most looking forward to this summer, even if I am 21 years old. If you haven’t seen the original, change that now. Despicable Me is a movie filled with as much laughter as it is sweet, heartfelt moments, and it’s a must see for all ages. I can’t wait to see how the characters have changed since the original in 2010.

books

7. Read, read, read!

I’ve always been a big reader, so this isn’t really any different from any other summer. However, this year I discovered Goodreads, which is a great site I’d recommend to fellow bookworms. I love being able to keep track of my reading progress and see what my friends are reading. As of yesterday, I’ve completed 21 books in 2013, and I started my 9th book in May alone. I try to keep my reading eclectic, so my goals for the summer include everything from children’s literature to classics.

Leave a Reply

