Book Update #5, 22-25

Excuse my lack of humility for a second, but I am pretty proud of myself for the progress I’ve made thus far, and I’m excited to see if I can surpass my goal for the year. Here are my thoughts on my latest reading ventures.

The Vile Village

22. The Vile Village, Lemony Snicket

So, I was wrong in my last post when I said that The Ersatz Elevator was the last Series of Unfortunate Events installment that I’d read before. It took me about 10 pages of reading The Vile Village to realize it, but I now know that this was actually the last one I’d already read. This book definitely marks another turning point in the series, as the Baudelaires begin to take matters into their own hands rather than relying on Mr. Poe. The worst part about this book: the enormous number of crows in the village. Birds stress me out.

The Hostile Hospital

23. The Hostile Hospital, Lemony Snicket

I finally reached the section of the series that I’ve never read! This somehow feels like an accomplishment in and of itself. This isn’t the most exciting of the series, but it’s interesting to see Klause and Sunny cope without the help of their sister for about half of the book. I also enjoyed the literary allusions in some of the patients’ names (like Clarissa Dalloway and Emma Bovary) and seeing little Sunny grow and learn to speak more like a real person. This book also offers a few more clues into the mystery of the fire that started the problems for the Baudelaires, so I’m interested to see how this all pans out as I near the conclusion of the series.

The Awakening

24. The Awakening, Kate Chopin

I was excited to read this, because I remember when most of my classmates read this my junior year of high school, but I chose to read something else instead (I like to rebel in very minor ways). The Awakening is a must-read for lovers of American literature. I breezed through it in three days, and I actually wished there could have been more to it. The ending is upsetting, but satisfactory. I would definitely recommend it for others looking for a more serious summer read.

The Carnivorous Carnival

25. The Carnivorous Carnival, Lemony Snicket

It’s safe to say that I am thoroughly enjoying getting into the parts of this series that I never read as a child, especially since these books get closer and closer to solving the mysteries of the Baudelaires’ misfortunes. Again, The Carnivorous Carnival offers up a few more bits of evidence and hints of the connection between the Baudelaires and Count Olaf, but these mysteries are still far from being solved. For now, I’ll be taking a brief break from reading these books to reading some others, but I’m anxious to see how the story continues.

Stay tuned! My current read: Beautiful Chaos — book three in the Beautiful Creatures series.

Leave a Reply

