Book Update #6: 26-30

My reading has slowed down a bit since I’m trying to incorporate a bigger variety of material into my repertoire. Here are my most recent reads and a quick review of each.

Image

26. Beautiful Chaos, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Like I said when I read Beautiful Darkness (the second book in this series), I’ve continually been surprised by how much I’m enjoying these books. This installment ended in a cliffhanger, so I’m anxious to get the final installment to see how the story wraps up. Once again, these books are filled with compelling characters and interesting story lines that interweave supernatural incidents with traditional Southern culture.

Image

27. Persuasion, Jane Austen

This is only the second Austen book I’ve read (after Pride and Prejudice) and I can’t say it lived up to my expectations. I think the biggest different in these two books is the lack of appealing or likeable characters in Persuasion. Unfortunately, the only people I was very interested in were the heroine Anne Elliot, her long-time love Captain Wentworth, and her incapacitated friend Mrs. Smith. Because of this, I found it difficult to motivate myself to read this one very quickly. However, the story wraps up nicely in a true Austen fashion with a happy engagement. I plan to read Emma and Sense and Sensibility sometime soon, so hopefully those will be more enjoyable than Persuasion.

The Slippery Slope

28. The Slippery Slope, Lemony Snicket

Reading these last few installments in the Series of Unfortunate Events has been a much more exciting experience for me, especially as the mysteries of the series begin to resolve. Once again, this is a book full of Snicket’s literary humor that is more easily understood with age. (My favorite from this book was an allusion to Citizen Kane when Sunny utters “Rosebud.”) Looking forward to finishing this series in the near future!

Divergent

29. Divergent, Veronica Roth

THIS WAS SO MUCH FUN TO READ! I was definitely itching to read something of this style, and I was very pleased with my choice. Divergent is a must-read for fans of The Hunger Games series, but don’t make the mistake of trying to compare the two too much (this is how I was at the beginning, but it’s easier to let your assumptions go when you’re reading). Tris is a great female lead — I’m so happy that more and more young adult books are being published that feature strong, complex females in leading roles. Even at 485 pages, this story moves very quickly, and it only took me two days to get through it. I can’t wait to start reading Insurgent, the next installment in this trilogy, but unfortunately, I couldn’t find any copies when I went out yesterday. However, I’m taking that as a sign to do some other reading before I return to this series, which will also probably help me stay less anxious in waiting for the final book to be released this October and the movie adaptation in March 2014.

The Grim Grotto

30. The Grim Grotto, Lemony Snicket

I have to say, after reading eleven of the thirteen books in this series, Captain Widdershins is one of my very favorite supporting characters in this series. His dialogue was always hilarious to me, and since his whereabouts were unknown by the end of The Grim Grotto, I’m hoping I can expected more of him in the final two books. Also, big news everyone: Klaus got kissed! Not by my favorite person, but I like how we can see the Baudelaires growing up throughout the series. And I’m assuming Violet may have a similar situation when she’s reunited with Quigley Quagmire.

I’m already about 50 pages into my next reading project: Insurgent, the sequel to Divergent. I’m sure I’ll be completing it far quicker than necessary. Look for my review on that and the two final Series of Unfortunate Events books in my next update. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

