Book Update #7: 31-35

I can’t believe that I’ve been making progress so quickly! For the past few years, I’ve come in at just under 40 books for the whole year, so I think my progress thus far has been pretty great. Anyway, here are my reviews for my most recent reading ventures.

Insurgent

31. Insurgent, Veronica Roth

As I said in my last post when I reviewed Divergent, I’m kind of obsessed with these books. The sequel puts heroine Tris in more dire situations as she and her cohorts struggle in a war between factions, and the war against Divergent citizens continues to worsen. One thing to note about this series: author Veronica Roth does not hesitate to kill off important characters in a way that can be surprising for the pacing of the books. This novel definitely ends with a bigger cliffhanger than its predecessor, so I’m already anxious to be able to read the final installment when it’s released this October. Until then, I’ll be keeping up with filming updates for the Divergent movie which is scheduled for release in March of 2014.

The Penultimate Peril

32. The Penultimate Peril, Lemony Snicket
I must say, The Penltimate Peril was one of my very favorite books in this series. Though there isn’t a ton that gets accomplished during this novel, it’s still quite important to the story and provides lots of great humor. (Side note: I was reading this on a flight back home from New York and couldn’t stop laughing at this line: “But the three siblings were not born yesterday. Violet was born more than fifteen years before this particular Wednesday, and Klaus was born approximately two years after than, and even Sunny, who had just passed out of babyhood, was not born yesterday. Neither were you, unless of course I am wrong, in which case welcome to the world, little baby, and congratulations on learning to read so early in life.”). I’m really looking forward to finally reading the last book in this series, but I’m sure it will be a bittersweet conclusion. However, I’ll be very thankful to have closure on this wonderful story of the Baudelaire orphans.

Fifty Shades of Grey

33. Fifty Shades of Grey, E.L. James

Okay, the most embarrassing thing about this is that this was my second time reading this book. Yeah. So… I was on an airplane and wanted some mindless entertainment and this was on my iPad, so voila, that’s how a girl ends up reading the Fifty Shades trilogy for a second time. Whatever. In terms of review: um… Christian didn’t bother me a much as he did when I first read this a year ago, but I assume that’s because I know where the story is going. And I guess because I’m in a phase of crappy entertainment, I’m probably going to be rereading the other two books as well. Thank God for summer break when reading can be this silly.

Fifty Shades Darker

34. Fifty Shades Darker, E.L. James

Okay, again, this is embarrassing, but it happened, so oh well. This is my guilty pleasure summer indulgence reading at its finest. There isn’t really much to say about it, except that I have enjoyed the characters more during my reread. Other than that… It’s silly, trashy, mindless entertainment, which is sometimes exactly what you need.

The Cuckoo's Calling

 

35. The Cuckoo’s Calling, Robert Galbraith

Being a huge J.K. Rowling fan, it was absolutely necessary for me to purchase The Cuckoo’s Calling once the news leaked that the book had been written by Rowling under a pseudonym, and I’m very happy to say it did not disappoint. The Cuckoo’s Calling features a fairly minor group of characters in comparison with Rowling’s other works, but this allows readers to get a better sense of who these characters really are. The story centers on Cormoran Strike, a detective who’s been hired to investigate the alleged suicide of supermodel Lula Landry. The pieces in this mystery come together very slowly, but they ultimately result in a satisfying conclusion. If you’re a fan of Rowling’s other works, this book definitely contains her characteristic writing flair, and I’d recommend it if you’re looking for a good read to end your summer. Rowling proves herself as an intriguing crime author, including enough twists and turns to bring Agatha Christie to mind. I’m very interested to see if Rowling decides to continue with these characters in a series. If so, count me in.

Next stop: The End, the conclusion to A Series of Unfortunate Events. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

