Emmy Awards Part 2: My Predictions/Hopes for the Drama Categories

If you read my earlier post about my picks for the nominees in the drama categories at the Emmy Awards, then you get the gist. If not, it’s pretty basic. Here are my thoughts about this years Emmy-nominated dramas.

Outstanding Drama Series

  • Breaking Bad • AMC
  • Downton Abbey • PBS
  • Game of Thrones • HBO
  • Homeland • Showtime
  • House of Cards • Netflix
  • Mad Men • AMC

This category gives me a lot of feelings because I care about all of these shows except for House of Cards (Sorry, world. I watched three episodes and was super annoyed the whole time. Oh well.). However, I can definitely eliminate Mad Men from my top choices, because I think this was their weakest season, and as much as I love Downton Abbey (which is just so, so much), I don’t really see it fitting into this category. My top pick this year is Breaking Bad, but I’d also be happy seeing either Homeland or Game of Thrones winning. All three of these shows tell great stories, but the originality of Breaking Bad makes it my top choice.

Breaking Bad

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

  • Bryan Cranston • Breaking Bad
  • Hugh Bonneville • Downton Abbey
  • Damian Lewis • Homeland
  • Kevin Spacey • House of Cards
  • Jon Hamm • Mad Men
  • Jeff Daniels • The Newsroom

Again, I HAVE A LOT OF FEELINGS. But here, I’m also ruling out Jon Hamm, as sad as I am that he’s yet to win for this role (the real showdown will happen next year when Hamm and Cranston will presumably face off for the final seasons of their respective shows). I’m so happy to see Hugh Bonneville nominated, but the same goes for this show as I mentioned above. My top pick here is Bryan Cranston, who never ceases to amaze me. However, I would also be happy to see Damian Lewis win it again this year. If you don’t think “Q&A” is one of the best-acted episodes on TV from this past year, you’re crazy.

Bryan Cranston

Episode 212

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series

  • Vera Farmiga • Bates Motel
  • Michelle Dockery • Downton Abbey
  • Claire Danes • Homeland
  • Robin Wright • House of Cards
  • Elisabeth Moss • Mad Men
  • Connie Britton • Nashville
  • Kerry Washington • Scandal

I’m really, really, REALLY rooting for Vera Farmiga on this one. I had such high hopes that Bates Motel would receive a smattering of Emmy nominations, but at least the nomination it did receive was its most deserved. Farmiga plays Norma Bates in a way that makes audiences relate to her, feel wary of her, and empathize with her all at the same time. She’s also incredibly funny, so she’s my favorite in this category. However, I’d also be pleased to see Claire Danes win it again (see “Q&A” comment above), and of the Downton Abbey acting nominations, I think Dockery is most deserving of a win, but she’s got some tough competition here. (Side note: if you’ve followed my recent posts, you’ll know that I’m rooting for Elisabeth Moss for Lead Actress in a Miniseries or Movie.)

Vera Farmiga

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

  • Bobby Cannavale • Boardwalk Empire
  • Jonathan Banks • Breaking Bad
  • Aaron Paul • Breaking Bad
  • Jim Carter • Downton Abbey
  • Peter Dinklage • Game of Thrones
  • Mandy Patinkin • Homeland

And, once again, this category gives me some internal conflict, because I’m a big fan of all these shows (apart from Boardwalk Empire). However, in my attempts to narrow the playing field, I think I’d first eliminate Aaron Paul. He’s fantastic as Jesse Pinkman, and I’d be happy to see him win, but his two past wins and his diminished role this season make me root for others here over him, and I’d prefer Jonathan Banks to win if it goes to a Breaking Bad actor. I’d also eliminate Jim Carter for the same reasons as the other Downton nominees, and Peter Dinklage’s past win makes me more inclined to root for Mandy Patinkin here. Let’s face it, Saul is such a wonderful character, and his calm, reasonable character is a great balance to all of Carrie’s crazy.

Mandy Patinkin

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

  • Anna Gunn • Breaking Bad
  • Maggie Smith • Downton Abbey
  • Emilia Clarke • Game of Thrones
  • Christine Baranski • The Good Wife
  • Morena Baccarin • Homeland
  • Christina Hendricks • Mad Men

This category is again difficult for me, but in a bit of a different way than the other categories. While I again have issues because I watch all of these shows apart from The Good Wife, I’m having a hard time trying to say if one of these actresses really impressed me more than the others. Maggie Smith is always a voter favorite, but I’d be happy to see the award go to someone else this year. I’m not sure I’d root for Christina Hendricks this year, either, due to a smaller role this season for Joan. I could also say the same for Anna Gunn. However, Gunn did give a great monologue (her “I’m just waiting for your cancer to come back” moment), but she still does a lot that drives me insane (i.e. brushing her hair, putting on lotion, doing that dumb thing with her upper lip). Overall, I think I’m rooting most for Emilia Clarke, but I really do think I could be happy no matter who wins. I think my problem with this category is that, apart from Clarke, each of these women’s respective characters didn’t have their best seasons. (Side note: based on the preview for the upcoming season of Homeland, I’m wondering if Baccarin might be able to shine with the new developments for her character this season.)

Emilia Clarke

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series

  • Nathan Lane • The Good Wife
  • Michael J. Fox • The Good Wife
  • Rupert Friend • Homeland
  • Robert Morse • Mad Men
  • Harry Hamlin • Mad Men
  • Dan Bucatinsky • Scandal

Okay, my opinions in these last two categories probably aren’t as trustworthy because I watch fewer of the nominated shows, but I do feel strongly about my choices here. Because I only watch Homeland and Mad Men out of the nominees here, it’s a no brainer for me to support Rupert Friend in this category. Friend is hilarious as Peter Quinn, but he also gave the character the necessary intrigue as it became revealed that Quinn may not be who he seems. I can’t wait to see his return in season three. I was never overly impressed (or even very interested) in Hamlin, and I’m honestly a bit confused how it’s possible for Morse to be nominated here, since he’s been a part of the show since the very beginning. Regardless, I give my full support to Friend.

Episode 204

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series

  • Margo Martindale • The Americans
  • Diana Rigg • Game of Thrones
  • Carrie Preston • The Good Wife
  • Linda Cardellini • Mad Men
  • Jane Fonda • The Newsroom
  • Joan Cusack • Shameless

Again, I don’t have the greatest background for this category, but I am very confident in my support of Diana Rigg for her role as the hilarious Olenna Tyrell. The only other actress I know much about here is Linda Cardellini, but, in this case, I felt like her character’s most intriguing characteristic was her effect on Don Draper, rather than anything about herself. It doesn’t take much thought for me to support Rigg in this scenario. (Side note: Though I don’t watch The Good Wife, I really love Carrie Preston on True Blood, so I’d be fine if she won as well.)

Dianna Rigg

Leave a Reply

