Book #49: The Giver, by Lois Lowry

The Giver

Somehow I managed to skip over this book during my adolescence, so I decided that it was time to read it, especially since the movie adaptation is currently being filmed. The Giver is an obvious source of inspiration for such recent young adult bestsellers as The Hunger Games and Divergent series. Young protagonist Jonas lives in an oddly perfect but subversive world without pain, love, or any emotion. On his twelfth “birthday,” Jonas is selected for a prestigious position within the community that opens his eyes to the unfortunate realities of his lifestyle.

I must say, I thoroughly enjoyed this book until about the last 25-30 pages. I felt like the ending was rather anticlimactic and I was really bummed to lose interest that close to the end. However, it’s still well worth a read, if not just for the movie’s stellar cast.

Leave a Reply

