Book #51: Live From New York, by James A. Miller and Tom Shales

Book #51: Live From New York, by James A. Miller and Tom Shales

It always feels like an accomplishment to finish a book, but that feeling is a bit sweeter when said book happens to be 600 pages long. Live From New York is a comprehensive history of Saturday Night Live told from the show’s writers, producers, and cast members, and it’s safe to say that there aren’t many details omitted. In my opinion, the book could’ve used a pretty serious revision since I found it to be slow in many places, but that also could have been because I didn’t have much context for some of the people it discussed.

What I found to be the biggest fault with the book was the way it didn’t explain certain situations and people that we discussed extensively. For example, the book obviously talks about Gilda Radner’s death, but not the reason for her death. I found myself doing lots of Googling of people or events because the authors weren’t really making an effort to clarify the references made.

I also wish this book included more on the more recent years at SNL. Though it was originall published in 2001, the paperback edition apparently has more extensive interviews, so I think it would only be fair to add more about the current situation at SNL. The final section starts at 1995 with no definite end date, but since that was almost 20 years ago, I think it’s fair to say that there’s plenty more to add, and as a 22-year-old, the most recent years are most interesting to me. Overall, though, it was a pretty enjoyable read, and definitely worthwhile if you’re a TV fanatic like me.

Now on to what I expect to be my final reading project of 2013: Jane Eyre. It’s never a bad idea to end with a classic, especially if it’s one you’ve never read before. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

