2014 Golden Globes — TV hopes and predictions

It’s no secret I’m a fan of awards shows, so this morning’s announcement of the Golden Globe nominees was quite exciting for me. I realize it’s a bit early as the show doesn’t air until Sunday, January 12, but I’m too excited and want to share my feelings about the TV categories. Check back later for my predictions about the movie categories — I won’t be writing that until I’ve seen more of the nominated films. Happy awards season, everyone!

Best Drama Series

  • Breaking Bad
  • Downton Abbey
  • The Good Wife
  • House of Cards
  • Masters of Sex

There are some notable absences in this category this year (Homeland, Mad Men, and Game of Thrones among them), but overall, it still seems to be a tough competition. Though I love Downton Abbey and Masters of Sex, I think it’s undeniable that Breaking Bad will win here. The final season was perfection and completely deserving of any possible wins. I know nothing about The Good Wife except that it’s apparently been having a great season and I didn’t like House of Cards at all, so I think Breaking Bad is still the most obvious choice.

Best Actor in a Television Drama Series

  • Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
  • Liev Schreiber, Ray Donovan
  • Michael Sheen, Masters of Sex
  • Kevin Spacey, House of Cards
  • James Spader, The Black List

This is a tough one for me, because I think Cranston and Sheen are both very deserving. However, my pick goes for Cranston as it’s his last chance to win at the Globes for a consistantly brilliant performance in Breaking Bad. Michael Sheen is a newcomer to this category and gives a great performance as the evasive Bill Masters. Comparing the two performances is difficult since they’re so stylistically different, but, since Sheen will certainly have more opportunities for success, I’m still rooting for Cranston.

Best Actress in a Television Drama Series

  • Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
  • Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black
  • Taylor Schilling, Orange is the New Black
  • Kerry Washington, Scandal
  • Robin Wright, House of Cards

Another category with rather surprising snubs (Claire Danes and Elisabeth Moss have both been left off from previous nominations) and Bates Motel was my favorite new drama of the year, so no nomination for Vera Farmiga is a bummer. I only made it through two episodes of Orphan Black and three of House of Cards before giving up on both of them, and I only liked Orange is the New Black to a certain extent. Schilling, however, is the best part of the show in my opinion, but I think she should really be competing in the comedy category. So my pick here is Kerry Washington of Scandal, the only show on this list I really care about. Washington’s Olivia Pope is always entertaining, and I’d be very happy to see her win here.

Best Comedy Series

  • The Big Bang Theory
  • Brooklyn Nine-Nine
  • Girls
  • Modern Family
  • Parks and Recreation

Parks is far and away the strongest comedy on this list, bar none. I love Girls, but the show is an atypical comedy, and though I like Brooklyn Nine-Nine, it’s still got a way to go before being strong enough for an ensemble win. Let’s go, Parks and Rec!

Best Actor in a Television Comedy Series

  • Jason Bateman, Arrested Development
  • Don Cheadle, House of Lies
  • Michael J. Fox, The Michael J. Fox Show
  • Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory
  • Andy Samberg, Brooklyn Nine-Nine

This category has been a bit disappointing lately because I think it’s filled with people who’ve either won or been nominated several times, or they’re on shows I don’t watch or don’t care about. I only watch The Michael J. Fox Show on very rare occasions and I don’t think Bateman’s performance was anything outstanding, so I think I’ll go with newcomer Samberg here. He’s the best part of the show and consistently funny, so I’d be happy to see him win.

Best Actress in a Television Comedy Series

  • Zooey Deschanel, New Girl
  • Lena Dunham, Girls
  • Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep
  • Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

Okay, people, it is Amy Poehler’s time to shine. Dunham is great on Girls, but Hannah Horvath was often a more dramatic than comedic character in  season two, and Julia Louis-Dreyfus is great as Selina Meyer, but Poehler has been great for several years on a show that always gets overlooked. All I can say is that maybe with 30 Rock and Tina Fey out of the running, Poehler might finally have her moment in the spotlight.

Best Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • American Horror Story: Coven
  • Behind the Candelabra
  • Dancing on the Edge
  • Top of the Lake
  • The White Queen

Though I’m sure Behind the Candelabra is mostly likely to win here, my favorite is Top of the Lake. I’m not very impressed with the latest season of AHS, and I know nothing about Dancing on the Edge or White Queen, but Top of the Lake is a twisting and turning drama full of great plot lines and characters. Here’s hoping for an underdog.

Best Actor in a Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Matt Damon, Behind the Candelabra
  • Michael Douglas, Behind the Candelabra
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor, Dancing on the Edge
  • Idris Elba, Luther
  • Al Pacino, Phil Spector

I’m very uninformed in this category as I haven’t seen any of the programs represented, but I think it’s safe to say Douglas has this one in the bag.

Best Actress in a Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Helena Bonham Carter, Burton and Taylor
  • Rebecca Ferguson, The White Queen
  • Jessica Lange, American Horror Story: Coven
  • Helen Mirren, Phil Spector
  • Elisabeth Moss, Top of the Lake

Since she lost at the Emmys, I really hope Moss takes this one home. The competition is stiff here, especially with past winner Lange, but I think Moss gave a great, original performance in Top of the Lake and deserves to take home an award.

Best Supporting Actor in a Series, Miniseries, or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Josh Charles, The Good Wife
  • Rob Lowe, Behind the Candelabra
  • Aaron Paul, Breaking Bad
  • Corey Stoll, House of Cards
  • Jon Voight, Ray Donovan

The combination of supporting actors and actresses for the TV categories at the Globes always seems strange, but the competition here is more even that usual since all but one represent TV dramas. I’m sad to see Mandy Patinkin without a nomination, but that makes my decision easy: Aaron Paul deserves it. Enough said.

Best Supporting Actress in a Series, Miniseries, or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Jacqueline Bisset, Dancing on the Edge
  • Janet McTeer, The White Queen
  • Hayden Panettiere, Nashville
  • Monica Potter, Parenthood
  • Sofia Vergara, Modern Family

This is another tough one for me because the only show I watch on this list is Modern Family, but I’ve only seen a handful of episodes from this season and I haven’t been too impressed. I’m sure the diversity of the styles of the programs represented will split votes, so it will be interesting to see who wins. As far as I can tell, there’s no real front runner here, so it will be interesting to see where this goes on the show.

Leave a Reply

