Book #3: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Book #3: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

This was a book I’d often scene and looked at while browsing at Barnes and Noble, so when I found a very cheap copy and Half Price Books, I decided to purchase it. Though it wasn’t originally on my (unofficial) reading list for 2014, I chose to read it on a whim because I was looking for a fairly short project before I leave for the Sundance Film Festival on Tuesday. This novel fit that requirement, but I don’t really have much more to say about it.

Nothing about the book really struck me as endearing; I was bored by the majority of the plot and the characters, often finding myself confused about who was who because I found myself so easily distracted while reading. It’s a pleasant enough novel, but definitely not one of my favorites. I think this would appeal to a middle-aged and older female audience, but not really anyone below that. The story and storytelling were mediocre, and I don’t think any of it is particularly memorable. I just did some quick research because I remembered hearing something about a film adaptation, but the project has never gotten off the ground. Kenneth Branagh is technically attached to direct, and Kate Winslet was set to star at one point, but production has continually been postponed. I wouldn’t be surprised if it never works out, and I don’t think that would be a very big disappointment. Let’s hope my next reading project is a bit more satisfying.

Leave a Reply

