My Love Letter to “Sherlock”

Dearest Sherlock,

I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about your show. I’d never really understood the love for Benedict Cumberbatch, and I felt kind of certain this this show just wouldn’t really be my kind of thing. I’m more than happy to report, though, that I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I decided to watch your pilot episode on a whim, but I quickly found myself engrossed in the story. I love a good mystery, and you provided enough twists and turns to keep me fully satisfied. And, lo and behold, I loved Mr. Cumberbatch in this role (I still think he looks like an alien, but in a really nice, loveable way). He’s the perfect combination of funny, mean, and just plain bizarre, and I loved every second of it. And of course we can’t forget dear Martin Freeman, who’s kind of the cutest man in the world, even if he’s a big grump most of the time as John Watson. The chemistry between these two is exquisite, and I love their little bromance more than most other things in the world. I wish I could be their friend, too, but alas, they’re fictional characters. Sigh.

After finding myself so enamored with this series, it was such a disappointment to reach the end of season three. Not that the show is ever disappointing, but finding myself without any new episodes to watch was a bit of a bummer. Especially considering I’ll probably be waiting until 2016 for new episodes. THAT’S TWO YEARS! I don’t think I’ll handle it well.

Until then, though, I guess I must resort to obsessively discussing the show with my friend Ryan. It’s kind of our new favorite pastime. It’s also quite likely that in those moments when I need a good distraction, I’ll find myself rewatching one of your lovely episodes. I miss you, friend, and I look forward to your return.

Love always,

Brenna

Leave a Reply

