Book #34: Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, by Tom Stoppard

Book #34: Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, by Tom Stoppard

I think it’s safe to say that absurdism isn’t exactly my thing. After working my way through a handful of Edward Albee’s plays, I was ready to move on to different things, but my professor wanted us to have another stop on the path through Theatre of the Absurd with Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead.

Maybe if I’d ever read Hamlet (since the titular characters come from this Shakespearean work) I’d feel differently, but I didn’t really enjoy reading this play. It’s quite confusing, and I’m sure it could be more clearly appreciated when seen rather than just read. And with the knowledge that Tom Stoppard has written other things (like the screenplays for Shakespeare In Love and Anna Karenina), it’s hard to imagine that he’s the same person who wrote this play. Ah, well. Onto other things.

Leave a Reply

