Book #35: Crimes of the Heart, by Beth Henley

Book #35: Crimes of the Heart, by Beth Henley

It’s always nice to have a comedy to lighten your spirits after reading lots and lots of tragedies. Thankfully, this is exactly what Crimes of the Heart did for my American Drama course. This play is light, funny, and very entertaining, and served as a breath of fresh air after our unit on Theatre of the Absurd.

The play takes place in Mississippi and chronicles the lives of three sisters. This is a wonderful family comedy, full of just enough dysfunctional family dynamics to ring true to most readers. I wasn’t able to attend my class screening of the 1986 film adaptation, but I’m doing my best to find it online. The film stars Diane Keaton, Jessica Lange, and Sissy Spacek as the three sisters, and this cast is more than adequate to interest me. Here’s hoping I can access it.

Leave a Reply

