Book #37: Brighton Beach Memoirs, by Neil Simon

Book #37: Brighton Beach Memoirs, by Neil Simon

My mom has always been a big fan of Neil Simon’s, so when I realized I’d be reading a work of his for the first time, I was excited to see why she loved his work. It’s safe to say that Brighton Beach Memoirs did not disappoint, and I’m very interested in reading more Simon in the future.

The play is basically a comedy, centered around the lives of a Jewish family living in Brooklyn in 1937. The play is semi-autobiographical, a characteristic that I think clearly comes through when reading, even before my mom mentioned this to me. The story is funny, relatable, endearing, and just realistic enough that readers are likely to recognize either characters or situations as true to life. As Brighton Beach Memoirs is the first in the Eugene Trilogy, I’m anxious to add the sequels, Biloxi Blues and Broadway Bound, to my summer reading list.

One comment

Leave a Reply

