Book #41: Fences, by August Wilson

Book #41: Fences, by August Wilson

This was the second time I’ve read Fences, but I felt like I got more out of the reading experience this time than I did previously. I’m very intrigued by August Wilson’s Pittsburgh Cycle of plays, and Fences represents Wilson’s decade coverage of the 1950s.

The play isn’t very plot heavy; though several events occur, there isn’t really any central focus in the story. Personally, I really enjoyed the juxtaposition of this play with Death of a Salesman. Like Arthur Miller’s play, Fences presents the middle class experience in the 1950s, but Wilson’s gives us the African American perspective.

Leave a Reply

