Book #46: Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike, by Christopher Durang

Book #46: Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike, by Christopher Durang

Vanya and Sonya and Masha and Spike marks my final reading assignment for the semester (and my undergraduate career). Hooray! This is a very strange feeling, but I’m happy to say we ended things on a high note.

This play debuted on Broadway just last year and won the Tony Award for Best Play. It’s not at all like The Marriage of Bette and Boo; rather, it’s a more conventional comedy centered around three siblings who were named for Chekov characters. Vanya and Sonia live together and are visited by their sister, Masha, a famous actress, and her young boyfriend, Spike. Together, the form a rather dysfunctional, attention-seeking ensemble, but despite their faults, they’re still a compelling group.

Personally, I think my favorite character was Cassandra, the siblings’ maid/psychic. She has several scene-stealing monologues that I really enjoyed. Also, if you’re a fan of Maggie Smith (which I certainly am), there are many mentions of her that will hopefully make you as happy as they made me.

All in all, it’s been a good semester. I must say, having read 46 books and plays by the second week of May has been a pretty great accomplishment. Here’s to a summer full of reading whatever I want!

Leave a Reply

