Book #52: The Maze Runner, by James Dashner

The Maze Runner

As you’re probably well aware, I’m a big fan of young adult literature, and I tend to succumb to the powers of hyped trilogies (The Hunger Games, Divergent, etc.) The Maze Runner was no different. I recently had a Barnes and Noble gift card to spend (thanks, graduation!) and decided to purchase The Maze Runner after hearing a little bit about it and the movie adaptation that will be released later this year. Also, it was cheap, which always helps.

Once I started the book, it took me a while to get very involved in the story, but I don’t really know why. I only really had two frustrations with the novel: 1. the slang terms Dashner created — “shank,” “klunk,” and “shuck” — were all way too similar in my opinion, and I had a hard time remembering what they were each supposed to mean, and 2. I had a difficult time visualizing the Grievers, but hopefully this will be fixed by the movie. When the were first described, Thomas (the lead character) mentions that they’re “cow-sized,” so all I could imagine were these weird, slug-like, slimy, mechanical cows. I think that was incorrect.

Otherwise, though, I was pleasantly surprised by the book, especially as the story drew closer to the climax and big battle with the Grievers. I really enjoyed all the primary characters, and I also found the epilogue to be a very intriguing twist that sent me immediately to Amazon to purchase the two other books in this trilogy. I’m looking forward to both receiving those books later this week and seeing the film adaptation this September.

Also, this (kind of) marks the completion of my 2014 reading goal! Goodreads doesn’t reflect that yet because I have had a few rereads and my own personal reading list doesn’t include the silly books I’ve downloaded for free on my iPad, but I have officially read 52 books and plays so far in 2014. Mission accomplished (sort of).

Leave a Reply

