Book #53: Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck

Of Mice and Men

I’m fairly embarrassed of myself that I took nearly a month to read this novella, but the fact that I saw it on Broadway during that time meant that I didn’t feel any real burden about finishing the book. I can say, though, that the conclusion of the book left me the same way as the conclusion of the play did: in tears, wishing for a happier ending that can’t really exist.

If you don’t know the story, then I won’t spoil it for you. The book follows George and Lennie, two men who work on ranches across California. Lennie is somewhat mentally disabled and often accidentally gets himself into trouble, but is fortunate enough to have George as a protector who keeps Lennie out of harm’s way.

The stage adaptation is probably 95% identical to Steinbeck’s original work; having seen it so recently made it very easy for me to hear all the dialogue in the actors’ voices. As I mentioned in my post about my trip to New York, Chris O’Dowd gave a stunning performance as Lennie, and I pictured his face as the character throughout my reading experience. This was my first venture into John Steinbeck, and one that I think was very successful. If I stick to my plan, I’ll be reading The Grapes of Wrath before the end of the summer.

One comment

  1. Thanks. Steinbecks vividness of description made him very easy to adapt for stage or screen. But do read GOW as well as watch the great film. Regards from Thom at the immortal jukebox.

Leave a Reply

