The Emmys are coming! The Emmys are coming!

Since the Emmy nominations were announced this morning, I’ve been thinking about them nonstop because I’m a pop culture junkie and that’s what we do. Though I am tempted to already start making my predictions about the big categories, I figured it would be best to use my time until the show’s air date — Monday, August 25 — to try to catch up on all that I’ve missed from the various nominees. Here’s my Emmy to-do list, as well as a few reactions I’ve had during the day about the nominations.

1. I think my top priority at this point is a fairly simple one: watch HBO’s The Normal Heart, which was nominated for 16 awards, including Outstanding Television Movie, Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie (Mark Ruffalo), Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie (Julia Roberts), and took four of the six spots in the Supporting Actor in a Miniseries or Movie category (Jim Parsons, Alfred Molina, Joe Mantello, Matt Bomer). I’ve been interested in watching the movie, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. All these nominations are just the push I need to devote a couple of hours to it.

2. My second project is one that I’d be working on regardless of the Emmys, but it also received several nominations today: Showtime’s Masters of Sex. Though the show itself was shut out of the Outstanding Drama category and Michael Sheen was overlooked for Lead Actor in a Drama Series, the show did receive five nominations, including Lizzy Caplan for Lead Actress in a Drama Series (yay!), Allison Janney for Guest Actress in a Drama Series, and Beau Bridges for Guest Actor in a Drama Series. I’ve only got two more episodes to watch before completing season one, which should put me right on track to watch the season two premiere this Sunday night.

3. Another show I’d added to my list is IFC’s The Spoils of Babylon, which received two nominations, including Kristen Wiig for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or Movie. I’m not sure Wiig has a great chance at winning, but I think she’s fantastic and was interested in this show when it aired early this year. If nothing else, I’m sure it will provide me with some good amusement. 

Other than these three projects, though, I don’t have much I feel I need to catch up on before the awards. I already watch a good chunk of the nominated shows, and if I don’t watch them, it’s probably because I don’t really have an interest, and therefore feel no need to amend my behavior. Look out for more posts about the nominations and my predictions as August 25 grows closer.

On a side note: August 25 happens to be my first day of school. Grad school. And my first (graduate) class is a night class until 8:15. This is not ideal. 

Leave a Reply

