Emmy Hopes and Predictions: Drama

After lots of internal dilemmas, I’ve come up with my predictions for the Emmy nominees for this year’s drama categories. I think I’d just be happier if the Academy would give out like 3 awards for some categories, because sometimes choosing one person is just too tough. Look out for upcoming posts about my feelings on the comedy and miniseries/movie categories.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series

  • Michelle Dockery, Downton Abbey
  • Claire Danes, Homeland
  • Robin Wright, House of Cards
  • Lizzy Caplan, Masters of Sex
  • Kerry Washington, Scandal
  • Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife

Kerry Washington

As I mentioned in my introduction, picking one person is hard, especially because I’m a fan of four of these actresses. Since I didn’t enjoy House of Cards when I tried watching it and I’ve never seen The Good Wife, I’ve knocked Robin Wright and Julianna Margulies out of my running, but that of course doesn’t mean they’re unlikely to win. Claire Danes is always great, but I don’t think she’s as likely to win this year. My gut says Kerry Washington is going to be victorious, unless it goes to Margulies after what many have said was the show’s best season. And for the record, Michelle and Lizzy are both winners in my heart. (I’m also still mourning the fact that Vera Farmiga wasn’t nominated this year, so there’s that).

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

  • Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
  • Jon Hamm, Mad Men
  • Woody Harrelson, True Detective
  • Matthew McConaughey, True Detective
  • Jeff Daniels, The Newsroom
  • Kevin Spacey, House of Cards

Bryan Cranston

Let’s just get this out in the open right now: I will not be pleased if True Detective sweeps the drama categories. I thought the show was good, but not nearly as great as everyone else made it out to be. Needless to say, I do not want Harrelson or McConaghey to win, though they both gave great performances. Bryan Cranston undoubtedly deserves a prize for the final season of Breaking Bad, and I really hope he gets it. If anyone else wins, I’m expecting it to be one of the True Detective men, and my guess is that McConaughey has the stronger chance of the two.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

  • Anna Gunn, Breaking Bad
  • Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey
  • Christina Hendricks, Mad Men
  • Joanne Froggatt, Downton Abbey
  • Lena Headey, Game of Thrones
  • Christine Baranski, The Good Wife

Lena Headey

Another tough category, because I watched five of these performances (sorry, Christine Baranski), and they’re all award-worthy. Since Anna Gunn won last year, I’m not sure she’ll do it again, especially since her role was smaller in the final episodes of Breaking Bad. I don’t really think Maggie Smith would win again, though to be clear, she’s only won in this category once, in 2012. She also won in 2011 when Downton Abbey was still considered a miniseries. As much as I like Christina Hendricks, I don’t think she had the screen time or narrative relevance to win. And though I love Joanne Froggatt and she gave a great performance this season, I don’t think it’s very likely she’ll win. So I guess that leaves me with Lena Headey! I think she’s got a good shot, especially for her first nomination, and I’d be happy to see her win. But really, any of these ladies could win and I’d be supportive. Whatever.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

  • Aaron Paul, Breaking Bad
  • Jim Carter, Downton Abbey
  • Peter Dinklage, Game of Thrones
  • Mandy Patinkin, Homeland
  • Jon Voight, Ray Donovan
  • Josh Charles, The Good Wife

Aaron Paul Mandy Patinkin

My emotions are confused yet again. Though I’ve not seen Jon Voight’s or Josh Charles’s performances, I think Charles has a good shot at an award from what I’ve heard of this season of The Good Wife. But when I look at the shows I do watch, I’m again perplexed. Even though Aaron Paul has won several times before, I think he again has a great shot for the final episodes of Breaking Bad. I adore Jim Carter, but there’s no way he’ll win. Peter Dinklage definitely has a solid chance, especially considering his great performance in what was a very difficult season for Tyrion. Personally, though, I think I’d vote for Mandy Patinkin, mostly because I love him and I don’t know if he’ll ever win for Homeland. Emotions aside, I think the two strongest contenders are Aaron Paul and Josh Charles.

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series

  • Diana Rigg, Game of Thrones
  • Kate Mara, House of Cards
  • Allison Janney, Masters of Sex
  • Kate Burton, Scandal
  • Margo Martindale, The Americans
  • Jane Fonda, The Newsroom

Allison Janney

I really hope Allison Janney has this one in the bag, but I can’t be sure. She’s absolutely who I’d vote for; she’s amazing as the sweet, charming, and pitiful Margaret Scully, and totally deserves an award for her performance. I don’t even want to talk about the other nominees, so I won’t.

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series

  • Paul Giamatti, Downton Abbey
  • Reg E. Cathey, House of Cards
  • Robert Morse, Mad Men
  • Beau Bridges, Masters of Sex
  • Joe Morton, Scandal
  • Dylan Baker, The Good Wife

Joe Morton

I’ve seen four of these performances and think this category is pretty wide open. My personal vote would be for Joe Morton because he’s so deliciously evil as Olivia Pope’s dad. His character is the definition of “love to hate him.” However, this is the last chance for Robert Morse to win (even though it’s weird that he’s always been considered a guest and not a supporting actor), and Beau Bridges is great on Masters of Sex. Paul Giamatti was perfectly sleazy on Downton Abbey, but again, I don’t think he’s got a real shot. This category could be a bit of a surprise.

Outstanding Drama Series

  • Breaking Bad, AMC
  • Mad Men, AMC
  • House of Cards, Netflix
  • Downton Abbey, PBS
  • Game of Thrones, HBO
  • True Detective, HBO

Breaking Bad

I really, really hope that Breaking Bad repeats its win from last year. The win would be completely and absolutely deserved, but I’m afraid that True Detective will sneak up and take the cake. As far as I’m concerned, there’s no question about which show deserves to win, and I hope voters feel the same as I do.

One comment

Leave a Reply

