Book #58: Emma, by Jane Austen

Emma

I’m finally finished!

That was kind of my only reaction after closing Jane Austen’s Emma just a few minutes ago. This reaction probably occurred for a variety of reasons:

  1. Though I’ve only read three of Austen’s seven novels, I’m kind of realizing that I’m not a huge fan of her work. Pride and Prejudice is a classic for a reason, but the rest aren’t nearly so endearing.
  2. In about the past year, I’ve come to realize that I really prefer American literature to British, though I do try to read all kinds of books. It just so happens that I sometimes struggle through British works more often than I do with American.
  3. I watched the 1996 film adaptation of Emma earlier this year, and since I knew the plot already, I didn’t feel a very pressing need to keep reading. Also, if you know the story of Pride and Prejudice, it’s pretty easy to spot the ending of Austen’s other novels from a mile away. She kind of sticks to a theme.

So even though Emma wasn’t my favorite book ever, I definitely preferred it to Persuasion which I read last year. The more I think about that book the angrier I get about it. And regardless of my feelings on the novel, I’m happy to have crossed another book off my reading list.

Now, I’m going to finish the final book in The Maze Runner trilogy, The Death Cure. I’m already 75 pages into it, but I made myself put it down until I’d finished Emma.

Leave a Reply

