Emmy Hopes and Predictions: Comedy

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Lena Dunham, Girls
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep
  • Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation
  • Melissa McCarthy, Mike and Molly
  • Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
  • Taylor Schilling, Orange in the New Black

Amy Poehler Julia Louis-Dreyfus

This category is a perpetually difficult one for me to predict. If I had the opportunity to vote, I would vote for Amy Poehler, no questions asked. “Parks and Recreation” has been criminally underrated, and Poehler’s ever-perfect performance is the heart and soul of the show. I really, really hope she wins it this year, but it’s hard to really say. Julia Louis-Dreyfus is my second pick. She’s won the past two years in this category for very good reason; she is always spot on. In my mind, this race is really between these two great actresses, so I hope one of them takes home the gold.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Ricky Gervais, Derek
  • Matt LeBlanc, Episodes
  • Don Cheadle, House of Lies
  • Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory
  • Louis C.K., Louie
  • William H. Macy, Shameless

Matt LeBlanc

Unfortunately, it’s been a long time since I’ve had a very strong opinion about this category because it tends to be a weird mix of a lot of shows I don’t watch. Because I’m a “Friends” fan, I would love to see Matt LeBlanc win, but I really don’t have an educated opinion because I don’t watch a single show on this list. I imagine Louis C.K. is the front runner here, but I thought that last year and was wrong. I just really hope Jim Parsons doesn’t win for the fourth time. I don’t have anything against him, but I don’t find “The Big Bang Theory” funny, and I don’t think Parsons deserves to be the first person to win four times since Kelsey Grammer did it on “Frasier.”

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Julie Bowen, Modern Family
  • Mayim Bialik, The Big Bang Theory
  • Allison Janney, Mom
  • Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live
  • Kate Mulgrew, Orange is the New Black
  • Anna Chlumsky, Veep

Kate McKinnon

Though I do really like Anna Chlumsky on “Veep,” my favorite in this category is Kate McKinnon of “Saturday Night Live.” She’s a great performer and comedian, and I would love to see someone win an acting award for “SNL” (though that’s probably never going to happen). I imagine McKinnon is an underdog here, but I’m not sure how this category will pan out. Just as long as Julie Bowen doesn’t win and talk about Sofia Vergara’s or her own boobs/nipples in her acceptance speech, I’ll be happy.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Andre Braugher, Brooklyn Nine-Nine
  • Adam Driver, Girls
  • Ty Burrell, Modern Family
  • Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Modern Family
  • Fred Armisen, Portlandia
  • Tony Hale, Veep

Adam Driver tonyhalepic

The fact that Tony Hale of “Veep” won this award last year gives me lots of hope for the Emmys in 2014. Hale is completely deserving of another win this year, and I’d be more than happy to see him pull it off. I also really love Adam Driver on “Girls,” but he tends to be a bit under-appreciated by critics. If Hale doesn’t win, I think Andre Braugher might have the next-best shot. He’s great on “Brooklyn Nine-Nine,” and even though the show was shut out of other categories, I think Braugher might win it.

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Laverne Cox, Orange is the New Black
  • Natasha Lyonne, Orange is the New Black
  • Uzo Aduba, Orange is the New Black
  • Tina Fey, Saturday Night Live
  • Melissa McCarthy, Saturday Night Live
  • Joan Cusack, Shameless

Melissa McCarthy Uzo Aduba

This one’s a bit tough for me; though I watched all of the first season of “Orange is the New Black,” I’m not really a fan of the show, and so it’s hard for me to choose among these nominees. If one of the “OITNB” actresses does win it, though, I think Uzo Aduba is the most deserving; she’s sweet, compelling and sincere in her role. I don’t think Tina Fey or Melissa McCarthy are nominated for their best “SNL” hosting gigs, but they’re both great, though I think McCarthy was better. And I like Joan Cusack, even though I have no idea what her role on “Shameless” was.

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Nathan Lane, Modern Family
  • Steve Buscemi, Portlandia
  • Jimmy Fallon, Saturday Night Live
  • Louis C.K., Saturday Night Live
  • Bob Newhart, The Big Bang Theory
  • Gary Cole, Veep

Gary Cole Jimmy Fallon

I was very happy to see Gary Cole’s name among the nominees here, so I’m mostly putting my support behind him (though I did find his romantic storyline with Sue very strange). Jimmy Fallon was obviously wonderful on “SNL,” but it seems a little like Justin Timberlake was robbed of a co-nomination since they essentially split the hosting duties. These two are my picks, but I have no idea how things will actually pan out.

Outstanding Comedy Series

  • Modern Family, ABC
  • Louie, FX
  • Orange is the New Black, Netflix
  • Veep, HBO
  • Silicon Valley, HBO
  • The Big Bang Theory, CBS

Veep

Remember when I said “Parks and Recreation” was under-appreciated? Yeah, me too. With “Parks” out of the running, though, I have no problem throwing my full support behind “Veep” as the best comedy of the year. I feel like most people I know have given up on “Modern Family,” so I’d be surprised to see it win a fifth time. Though I don’t support it, I have a strong feeling “Orange is the New Black” will be the big winner. However, after three seasons, “Veep” has proved its comedic excellence, and I hope voters recognize that.

Since I’ve already covered the drama and miniseries/movie categories, this is my last pre-Emmys post. Here’s hoping all my wishes come true on August 25!

Leave a Reply

