Book #62: The Little Foxes, by Lillian Hellman

After reading Lillian Hellman’s The Children’s Hour earlier this year, I bought The Little Foxes at used book store. Since then, I’ve seen The Little Foxes mentioned fairly often on lists of the best American plays, but I must say, I didn’t really see why it’s so highly acclaimed. 

The story centers around the Hubbard family in the South in 1900, and pays special attention to Regina, the female heir of the Hubbard family. Regina is determined to gain wealth and power in her competition with her brothers, but only ends up alienating herself from her family. 

Personally, I found The Children’s Hour a much more revolutionary and interesting play, and I was disappointed by The Little Foxes. Even though I didn’t like it, I’m happy to have read another of the many books on my shelf and moved onto another reading project.

Leave a Reply

