Book #66: As You Like It, by William Shakespeare

My first real reading project of grad school is complete! I’ve also been reading lots of Edgar Allan Poe’s short stories and other academic works, but As You Like It was my first real project for my Shakespeare class. This grad school thing is starting to feel real.

As far as Shakespeare’s plays go, I think As You Like It is a good place to start. The last time I read any Shakespeare was almost five years ago, when I read King Lear for my AP English class my senior year of high school. It’s definitely fair to say that I’ve needed a bit of a transition to get back into reading such dense works. 

As You Like It is, in my opinion, a fairly easy read in comparison with other Shakespeare works, so I’m happy to have read it now to ease myself back into the Shakespeare experience. It’s also a fun, light story with an easy-to-follow plot, and features the very recognizable “All the world’s a stage” speech. 

I have a feeling that, now two weeks into my semester, I’m reaching a point when I’ll be much busier with my school work. I thankfully have a week or two before my next Shakespeare work is due, but in the mean time, I’m reading Poe’s The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym and beginning Herman Melville’s Moby-Dick. I think it’s safe to say that the remainder of 2014 will be full of rigorous reading for me.

Leave a Reply

