Book #69: Moby-Dick, by Herman Melville

Moby-Dick was definitely the heaviest reading project I’ll undertake this semester, and I’m happy to have added it to my ever-growing personal library. Though it wasn’t my favorite American novel, the experience of reading Moby-Dick is certainly worthwhile, as long as you can force yourself through all the cetology.

I don’t think the story needs much explanation: the narrative is told by Ishmael, a man who boards a whaling ship captained by Ahab, a man obsessed with finding and killing Moby-Dick, the white whale that took his leg. The book certainly has its ups and downs in terms of excitement, but the overall story is a memorable and intriguing one. I doubt I ever would have read Moby-Dick if it hadn’t been required of my class, but I’m glad to have experienced it.

Leave a Reply

