Book #73: Matilda, by Roald Dahl

I’m a life-long lover of children’s literature, so even though I’m in grad school, I think it’s important to take the time to read wonderful kids books. I somehow missed reading Matilda as a kid myself (though I did read lots of Roald Dahl’s other books; The Twits has always been a favorite of mine), so I recently bought both English and French copies of the book at a used book store.

As an adult, Matilda takes basically zero time to read, but it’s a thoroughly fun experience. I also come from the generation that  grew up watching the 1996 film adaptation, so this is a story that’s near and dear to my heart. And considering Dahl first published Matilda in 1988, the story still feels fresh and timeless. This is the kind of story I can’t wait to share with my own family in the future.

Leave a Reply

