Book #77: Antony and Cleopatra, by William Shakespeare

I’m finally getting caught up on my reading! As I mentioned in a previous post, my professor removed Antony and Cleopatra from our assigned reading list, but since I was almost finished with Act III by that time, I didn’t want to quit reading without finishing it.

I finally picked the play back up last night and finished it just a few minutes ago, and I’m happy I stuck to my plan. Like Julius Caesar, I think I had a way easier time understanding this play because I watched HBO’s “Rome” earlier this year. The show didn’t cover everything that happens in this play since the series was cut short, but the highlights were all there, which made my reading experience much easier.

One of the distinguishing characteristics of Antony and Cleopatra is the fact that there are really no introspective scenes to offer a glance into the minds of the characters, unlike the majority of Shakespeare’s dramas. Because of this objective perspective, I didn’t feel a major connection to any of the characters, but Cleopatra is quite entertaining. Anyone who covers herself in snakes to commit suicide is pretty badass in my book.

Now I’m off to finish Hamlet, which (unfortunately) I’ve barely gotten into, so it’s going to take some serious work to get caught up. Thank God this semester is winding down.

Leave a Reply

