Book #78: Hamlet, by William Shakespeare

Unfortunately, my Shakespeare class this semester hasn’t been everything I’d hoped it could be. In fact, I hardly feel like I’ve learned anything from being in the class, but I’m at least happy I’ve been pushed into reading some of Shakespeare’s best-known works. For me, this was a first-time encounter with Hamlet, and I definitely see what all the fuss is about. The soliloquies abound in this play, and many of the most quotable Shakespearean passages are found within these pages. My interest now would be to see a film or stage adaptation of the play, because I always think the visual aspects make Shakespeare more understandable.

On a more personal level, I’m so glad to finally be caught up with my reading! For this class, we’ve only got King Lear left to read, and since I’ve read it before, I think it should go fairly well. I’m hitting the point in the semester where I really don’t want to do anything, but I’m actually channeling that feeling productively by forcing myself to get ahead on as many assignments as possible so I can have more free time on the weekends and upcoming Thanksgiving break (not to mention my birthday is next week, and no one should have to do homework on their birthday).

For now, I’ve still got two long days of school and work ahead of me before I can enjoy the weekend, so back to work.

One comment

  1. Hamlet is one of my favorites of Shakespeare’s tragedies. I use it in my 9the grade Honors group in place of Romeo and Juliet, because I think it resonates even more than R&J for many young people (at least in the community where I teach). Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

