Book #90: Attachments, by Rainbow Rowell

I’m a bit behind on my blog posts lately, so expect to see several new updates in the coming days. I’ve actually read several things since my last post, but rather than covering everything, I figured I’d only write about something I’m excited about.

After having read Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl and Eleanor & Park earlier this year, I decided on a whim to order Rowell’s first novel, Attachments. This book kept me company on my flights to and from New York last week (look for an overview of my magical trip soon). This may possibly have been my favorite of Rowell’s books that I’ve read, and it was a perfect reward for finishing my first semester of grad school.

The novel takes place mostly in 1999, which is pretty relevant to the story. Most of the novel is told through straightforward narrative about Lincoln, a twentysomething whose job entails reading the emails of his coworkers at a newspaper to make sure they aren’t using business time inappropriately. Other chapters, though, feature email exchanges between Beth and Jennifer that Lincoln is monitoring, but when Lincoln should intervene because they’re having personal conversations, he can’t make himself follow through.

Overall, it’s a very sweet love story that I really enjoyed reading, and I’d recommend it to anyone looking to pass the time over winter break. Now, I’m working on reading To Kill a Mockingbird for the first time in seven years. More coming soon!

Leave a Reply

