Year in Review: Top 10 TV Shows of 2014

If there was a way to get a degree in TV-watching, my life would be complete. Really, though, school work might get in the way of my TV time, but I’m still kind of a pro. Though I’ve started watching Black Mirror, I doubt I’ll be starting a big new TV project before 2015 begins, so here’s a quick rundown of my TV life in 2014: I completed 21 TV series (though some of them were started in 2013) and watched 841 episodes of TV (though that doesn’t include anything I watched on TV in real time). Maybe I should be embarrassed by this, I’m pretty excited about it. Here are my 10 favorite shows I watched in 2014.

Broad City

“Broad City” was the last new show I watched in 2014, and it’s safe to say that I really, really enjoyed it. First of all, I really like when I can watch an entire season of a show in one sitting, which totally happened when some friends and I sat down to watch “Broad City” a few weeks ago. Apart from that, I love having another female-centered, incredibly funny show to enjoy. And season two starts so soon! Happy times.

Cheers

After finishing the first three seasons of “Cheers” rather quickly at the end of 2013, I set a goal of completing the series in 2014, which was no small feat considering I had to watch over 200 episodes of it this year. Even with such a daunting task in front of me, I thoroughly enjoyed watching the show, and was even a bit sad when I didn’t have the promise of more new episodes ahead of me.

The Comeback

My desire to watch “The Comeback” peaked when I learned of the show’s second season pick up (just a short nine years after the first season aired), so my mom and I made it a priority this summer. Like “Broad City,” it took next to no time to watch this show. It’s funny, charming, and often cringeworthy, but totally worth the time if you’re a TV fanatic like me. In my opinion, the second season has been even better in many ways, and I’m so happy to see the lovely Valerie Cherish (played perfectly by Lisa Kudrow) finally getting some recognition.

Deadwood

A big part of my interest in “Deadwood” came from the fact that the show is set close to where some of my family lives in South Dakota, so I decided to start the show early in 2014. If you’re squeamish or easily offended, “Deadwood” is not for you (I’ve become quite desensitized to lots of terrible language because of it, and I’m not sure if that’s a good thing). If you can handle it though, “Deadwood” is a great show that was canceled too soon. I challenge you to watch it without falling in love with Calamity Jane.

Friday Night Lights

I never would’ve expected “Friday Night Lights” to be one of my two very favorite shows I watched this year, but it most certainly was (more on the other favorite soon). After lots of peer pressure, I finally decided to start “Friday Night Lights” in August, and it was one of the best decisions I made all year. The show is funny, heartbreaking, sweet, and so wonderful I had an incredibly hard time pausing it when the real world was calling my name. If I’d never watched it, I wouldn’t have realized my love for Taylor Kitsch, and now I can’t imagine a world without him. Sigh.

Hannibal

Here’s my personal recommendation for watching “Hannibal” — don’t watch it while eating. This was a mistake I somehow made over and over again, so take my advice and prevent yourself from that unfortunate experience. Otherwise, it’s a really entertaining (though incredibly twisted) show that’s difficult to stop watching once you’ve started.

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia

I sped through all nine seasons of “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” in an embarrassingly short amount of time this fall, but I’m so glad I did. This show is basically the antithesis of any network comedy, but it might make you feel better about yourself when you see how stupid the gang is. Thankfully the next season starts soon, so I’ll be kept thoroughly entertained in what is normally a dull time for TV.

Seinfeld

Like “Cheers,” “Seinfeld” was one of my long-term projects I started in 2013 and finished over the summer. It’s always good to enjoy such a classic show, and I’m happy to feel like an in-the-know person when it comes to one of the most iconic comedies in TV history.

Sherlock

When I said “Friday Night Lights” was one of my favorite shows of the year, “Sherlock” was the second show I was referring to. I can’t really say what pushed me into watching “Sherlock,” but I clearly remember lying on my bed in the first days of January and feeling an immediate fascination with the show once I’d started. Now I’ve watched all nine episodes (it’s a crime there are so few) multiple times and I’ve written two big papers related to Sherlock. I might be a little obsessed, but you’re absolutely missing out if you don’t partake of such a fabulous show. GO WATCH IT!

A Young Doctor’s Notebook

If you know much about me, you probably know that I have a lot of feelings about Daniel Radcliffe, so it makes sense that I watched this show, starring Radcliffe and Jon Hamm. The show is bizarre and a true dark comedy and I really wish there were more of it to watch (though to be fair, I haven’t yet watched season two).

I’ll likely be starting 2015 with a fairly short TV list, but I’m hoping that means I’ll make good progress and watch some things I’ve been interested in for a long time. Happy watching!

Leave a Reply

