2014: A Recap

I don’t think it’s even necessary to say that 2014 has been really, really good to me. Some of my wildest dreams came true this year and I am immensely happy and grateful for what was easily the best year of my life. Here’s a quick recap of the best things that happened to me in 2014.

  1. I went to the Sundance Film Festival. Really, this blog post could end after this first thing on this list, because Sundance was undoubtedly the most life-changing thing I experienced this year. I loved every moment of it (even when I got sick and lost my voice for a few days). Nothing can ever really live up to the experience of Sundance and watching awesome movies with the actors and directors and producers and creators in the room. Sundance, I can’t wait to see you again soon. Thanks for the best 10 days I’ve ever spent.
  2. I graduated from college and decided what I want to do with my life. This May, I graduated from Western Kentucky University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Popular Culture Studies (plus a second major in French and a minor in Performing Arts Administration). I adore WKU, so much, in fact, that I’m now one semester into a two-year English literature Master’s program at WKU. It’s very strange to know that I have a degree that qualifies me to do things. For the foreseeable future, though, I’ll still be in school; my career plan sees me finishing a Master’s and hopefully doctorate in the coming years so I can become a professor at a university. My post-graduation plans certainly didn’t going according to Plan A (or Plan B or Plan C, for that matter), but I’ve learned so much in the last year, both in school and about my own passions. I can’t wait to see what 2015 has in store.
  3. I started living with one of my best friends. I’ve been fortunate that I lived with three of my closest friends during my four years as an undergrad, so it’s pretty lucky that I’m continuing that tradition as a grad student as well. Ryan and I have known each other for about 17 years (I can’t believe I’m old enough to say that), so living together is quite normal. To answer the question I’ve been asked many times, no, we aren’t dating/married/engaged/expecting any kind of lifelong commitment, but we are essentially the same person and have nearly lived together for the past few years because of how much time we spend together, so it just makes sense that our cohabitation is finally official.
  4. I had two more wonderful trips to New York. In case this is still unclear to you, I’m rather skilled at going to New York and meeting famous people. 2014 brought about two of these trips, once in May and once just recently in December. Between these trips, I once again met a number of celebrities and managed to reconnect with friends in the process. It’s a pretty perfect way to spend a few days, if I do say so myself.
  5. I read and watched lots and lots of great things. I’ve already posted my “year in review” blogs about my favorite reading and watching projects this year, so consult those if you’re looking for recommendations. I’m ending 2014 having read 91 books, watched 145 new (to me) movies, and 23 completed TV series. If I had all the time in the world, I’d be doing these things nonstop. Considering I’m a full-time student with a graduate assistantship that keeps me plenty busy, I’m quite content with my progress this year. I can only hope 2015 will be this good to me.
Leave a Reply

