Book #1: To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

There really isn’t much necessary to say about To Kill a Mockingbird except that it’s a perfect book. The story, language, and characters are all timeless and wonderful. This is essential reading for American students.

I’m sure you’re all familiar with the story, but if not, know this: the novel takes place in Maycomb, Alabama; it’s told from the perspective of a young girl named Scout (she ages from six to eight over the course of the book); the biggest conflict centers on racial tension and discrimination in the south; it’s both hilarious and heartbreaking; it’s an American masterpiece.

I first read To Kill a Mockingbird my freshman year of high school in 2007 and loved it, but it’s also required reading for my Southern Literature class this spring, so I’m revisiting it now. I am so very grateful for the assignment of reading this book, and I can’t wait to revisit it many more times in the future.

2 comments

  1. I love To Kill a Mockingbird, and I’ve been following (and blogging about) the controversies over the Monroe County Museum’s sale of related merchandise and the “parasitic memoir” featuring Harper Lee. It seems like Lee has never adjusted to the fame she received as the author of such an influential classic.

    I hope you enjoy re-reading it. A southern literature class sounds like fun.

Leave a Reply

