Book #3: Will Grayson, Will Grayson, by John Green and David Levithan

You may have noticed that I went from book #1 to book #3 on my review posts, and that’s because I did squeeze another reading project in that I didn’t write about: Love From New York by James Andrew Miller and Tom Shales. I read an earlier edition of this book in 2013 and was given an updated edition recently, so I only read the updated information, which pertains to the 2008-2014 years at “Saturday Night Live.” The fact that I’m most familiar with these years made it very fun to read, but since I reviewed this book before, I didn’t write a post for it this time.

Anyway, as of this morning, I’ve finished my third book of 2015, Will Grayson, Will Grayson. This was the only John Green publication I hadn’t yet read, so I was happy to complete my reading cycle. Though this wasn’t my favorite book ever, Green’s sections of the book (if you’re familiar with his writing, it’s very easy to distinguish his chapters, since he cowrote this novel with David Levithan, another popular YA writer) still carry his characteristic witticism and voice that makes his books so entertaining.

A general plot synopsis: there are two characters named Will Grayson (as the title suggests), but they don’t know each other until a while into the book. Like many YA books, it centers around high school relationships, both romantic and platonic. One thing I commend Green and Levithan for (and this is something Levithan has done in other books of his) is their inclusion of gay characters in very prominent roles. There’s really no drama about the fact that some characters are gay, it’s just part of their characters, and that’s something I really enjoyed.

Now I plan to reread John Green’s Looking for Alaska quickly before returning to some of my required reading for the semester. If only winter break could last all year, I could actually read everything I want with no time constraints…

Leave a Reply

