2015 Golden Globe Predictions — Film

Awards season is really one of the best times of the year. I try to stay as up-to-date with seeing buzzworthy films as possible, but it’s been a bit more difficult this year. Anyway, I’m going to give a quick rundown of how I imagine (or hope) things will turn out this Sunday night.

Best Motion Picture – Drama

  • Boyhood
  • Foxcatcher
  • The Imitation Game
  • Selma
  • The Theory of Everything

I’m assuming that this category will undoubtedly go to Boyhood, for good reason. I’ve only seen two films on this list (Boyhood and Foxcatcher), but Boyhood has been one of the most talked-about films since premiering almost a year ago at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival.

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

  • Birdman
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Into The Woods
  • Pride
  • St. Vincent

This isn’t even really a question: Birdman will and should win. Into The Woods was plenty of fun, as was The Grand Budapest Hotel (though I can’t speak to the others), I don’t think there’s much of a contest in this category, even if Birdman isn’t entirely a comedy.

Best Director

  • Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Ava DuVernay, Selma
  • David Fincher, Gone Girl
  • Alejandro González Iñárritu, Birdman
  • Richard Linklater, Boyhood

I’m sure this is a competition between Linklater and Iñárritu, but I’m not sure who is most likely to win. I’d have to say I’d give the edge to Richard Linklater here because of the breadth of Boyhood that is rather astounding.

Best Actress – Drama

  • Jennifer Aniston, Cake
  • Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
  • Julianne Moore, Still Alice
  • Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
  • Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Personally, I see this as one of the more interesting categories this year. Since “Friends” is my favorite TV show of all time, I’d love to see Jennifer Aniston win. Rosamund Pike and Reese Witherspoon both gave great performances, but between them, I’d prefer to see Pike win in this role that is undoubtedly going to change her career. Despite all that, I assume Julianne Moore will win, and though I’ve not seen the movie, I don’t doubt that she’s deserving. Moore has been around and nominated a million times, but rarely wins, so I’d be happy for her.

Best Actor – Drama

  • Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
  • Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
  • Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler
  • David Oyelowo, Selma
  • Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Another difficult category. Since the only movie I’ve seen from this list is Foxcatcher, I’m rather ill-informed. While I think Carell was a frontrunner in the past, I’m sad that that fact doesn’t seem as true anymore. Eddie Redmayne has had tons of praise for his portrayal of Stephen Hawking, and Selma has certainly risen in the ranks, so right now, I think either Eddie Redmayne or David Oyelowo is mostly likely to win.

Best Actress – Musical or Comedy

  • Amy Adams, Big Eyes
  • Emily Blunt, Into The Woods
  • Helen Mirren, The Hundred Foot Journey
  • Julianne Moore, Maps to the Stars
  • Quvenzhane Wallis, Annie

Again, I’ve only seen one performance from this category, but I really hope it’s the winning one. Since Big Eyes was a bit of a flop, I think Emily Blunt is probably the (deserved) frontrunner here. She’s great in Into The Woods and I’d love to see her win. (Side note: the fact that Quvenzhane Wallis is even nominated is a joke. Could they seriously not think of a fifth person?)

Best Actor – Musical or Comedy

  • Ralph Fiennes, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Michael Keaton, Birdman
  • Bill Murray, St. Vincent
  • Joaquin Phoenix, Inherent Vice
  • Christoph Waltz, Big Eyes

I think of all the film categories at the Golden Globes, the predicted winner here is most obvious. Though Birdman isn’t a conventional comedy (though I don’t think it’s really alone in that sense), Michael Keaton gives a fantastic performance that deserves to be rewarded.

Best Supporting Actress

  • Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
  • Jessica Chastain, A Most Violent Year
  • Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
  • Emma Stone, Birdman
  • Meryl Streep, Into The Woods

I really like the people in this category! I’ve seen three of these performances, but I’m still really unsure of who will win. I know Jessica Chastain has received lots of buzz for this performance, but it’s also the only thing I’ve heard about this movie, so I don’t know that she’ll win. Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke gave the best acting performances in Boyhood, so her nomination is deserved. Keira Knightley is lovely, and though I’ve not seen The Imitation Game, I’m sure she’s wonderful. Emma Stone is great in Birdman, though her role isn’t giant. and Meryl Streep can do anything, so of course she’s nominated. Right now, my hunch is that either Patricia Arquette or Emma Stone will win, but I could be totally wrong. We’ll see.

Best Supporting Actor

  • Robert Duvall, The Judge
  • Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
  • Edward Norton, Birdman
  • Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
  • J. K. Simmons, Whiplash

Finally, a category about which I feel informed! The only performance I haven’t seen from this category is Robert Duvall’s, but there’s no way he’ll win, so I feel fine about that. Mark Ruffalo is great in Foxcatcher (because he’s great in everything), but the bulk of the movie relies on Steve Carell and Channing Tatum, so I don’t think he’s likely to win. Ethan Hawke was my favorite part of Boyhood and a viable candidate. Edward Norton is fantastically obnoxious in Birdman, but my heart and soul pines for J.K. Simmons to win. I saw Whiplash almost a year ago and have been hoping for the movie to win awards since then, and I think he’s the most likely candidate to win.

Best Screenplay

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Birdman
  • Gone Girl
  • Boyhood
  • The Imitation Game

Since the Golden Globes don’t separate adapted and original screenplays, this category seems a bit odd. As far as I’m concerned, Gone Girl and Birdman will take those respective categories at the Oscars, but when in competition with each other, I’d give Birdman the edge here.

 

Leave a Reply

