Book #4: Looking for Alaska, by John Green

I first read Looking for Alaska in 2012 when I was an intern in Montreal, but I never had my own hard copy of the book, so I asked for it for Christmas. Since I can speed through John Green books pretty quickly, I decided to go ahead and reread this one before delving back into my reading list for my Southern Lit class.

Since I’ve now read all of John Green books (even the ones he’s cowritten), it’s safe to say that Looking for Alaska is my second favorite, because nothing can beat The Fault in Our Stars (obviously). Looking for Alaska is Green’s first published novel, but it still has many of the same quirky characteristics that make his books so very entertaining.

The story is told from the perspective of Miles Halter, a sixteen-year-old from Florida who begins attending a boarding school in Alabama that his father also attended. Miles never had many friends in public school, but his fortune changes when he gets to Culver Creek and begins a series of adventures with a new group of friends. Like most of Green’s books, Looking for Alaska is both funny and sad, and you immediately feel right at home with the characters. If you’ve not read this one, I recommend it.

Now, back to the real world and some very different reading. Next up: William Faulkner’s 1931 novel Sanctuary.

One comment

Leave a Reply

