Book #20: In Our Time, by Ernest Hemingway

I’d say reading 20 books before the end of February is a pretty solid start to my reading list in 2015. I just finished Ernest Hemingway’s In Our Time, a collection of short stories I have to present on in my American Short Stories class later this semester. If you know much about my literary tastes, you probably know that I have a major soft spot for Hemingway, so I’ve been especially studious in getting my reading done for this several weeks in advance.

I’ve also read several of these stories before, in my Hemingway and Faulkner class a few years ago. Most of the stories in In Our Time are Nick Adams stories, which chronicle Adams’s life from childhood to his return from World War I.

Generally, these stories deal with the savagery of war, particularly in an internal, personal sense. Hemingway also presents several scenarios of masculinity and femininity that are characteristic of his writing. As Hemingway’s second publication, In Our Time is a perfect example of his earliest works that helped establish his deceptively simple writing style. Hemingway fans, put this one on your to do list.

Leave a Reply

