Book #24: Airships, by Barry Hannah

My blog updates have been fairly nonexistent recently because school is controlling my life. (For reference, though, I am maintaining my viewing habits; I finished season 3 of “Lost” earlier today, I’m working my way through “Empire,” and my movie count for the year is up to 40).

Reading wise, I don’t think I’ll have any time for recreational books until school winds down for the semester, but I’ve still got plenty of assigned texts to keep me busy. I just finished reading Barry Hannah’s wacky short story collection Airships, a text we were assigned to read almost in its entirety for class, so I went ahead and finished it.

A lot of Hannah’s writing is tricky and difficult to understand, but it’s also entertaining and hilarious at times. I’m particularly fond of the very short story “Coming Close to Donna” if you’re looking for a recommendation.

This weekend I’ll be jumping ahead to my next school readings: Beth Henley’s Crimes of the Heart and Maxine Hong Kingston’s The Woman Warrior. In my very sparse free moments, I’m also slowly working my way through Flannery O’Connor’s complete short stories, of which I had to read seven for class last week. That’s a project I don’t expect to finish for some time, but she’s too good to put down.

Leave a Reply

