Book #27: A Confederacy of Dunces, by John Kennedy Toole

Dear spring semester, could you please just hurry up and end?

I only feel this way sometimes. Or maybe about half the time. After this week, I have 2 more weeks of class and then finals, and I’ve started to reach my capacity on being able to care about school work. The chance to freely watch TV and movies and read books of my choosing is so tempting that I’m struggling to ignore them. My will power is at an all-time low, and I need to do something about it.

On the upside, I’ve had some good assigned reading to keep me somewhat focused. I just finished John Kennedy Toole’s A Confederacy of Dunces, a truly strange book that I had to read for Southern lit. It’s a satirical novel, one that focuses on the polarizing Ignatius J. Reilly and a cast of loosely connected characters.

This book is full of laugh-out-loud moments. As repulsive as Ignatius is, he’s pretty funny, especially in his complete disregard of social etiquette. The book runs a bit longer than I found necessary, but this really just contributes to its overall absurdity. If you’re a fan of comedy, you’re bound to be a fan of this book.

Now, among the many papers I must write, I’m down to my final two reading assignments for the semester: Larry Brown’s Joe and Lewis Nordan’s Wolf Whistle. Here’s to ending on a strong note.

One comment

Leave a Reply

