outlander

Book #30: Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon

Confession: I’d never heard of the Outlander series until last summer, when I kept reading about the Starz television adaptation of the book series. A number of sources I trusted kept saying that the show was great, like a female-centric version of Game of Thrones. Obviously, I was intrigued.

I’m not sure the Game of Thrones comparison is totally accurate, but I was immediately hooked on the show. Caitriona Balfe and Sam Heughan are both beautiful and perfect, and the story is interesting and exciting and I’m kind of completely in love with it. Is that a positive enough assessment?

Anyway… I’ve been interested in the book series since I started the show, but I’ve had a weird journey reading it. I’d hoped to find a second-hand copy of the novel like I buy most of my books, but didn’t have luck. My roommate did, though, so I borrowed his copy for a while. I started reading, but felt like the show was doing an incredibly accurate job of representing the text, and since I had grad school to contend with, I abandoned the book after about 200 pages.

Flash forward to May. With the second half of season one of Outlander airing, my love for the show was in full force, and I was desperate to get as much of the characters as possible. I bought the book on my iPad, and it kept me company during my last weeks of school and work.

I’m fully enmeshed in the world of these characters and desperate to find myself a nice Scottish fellow to fall in love with. It’s not often that I sit down with a book that totally pulls me in. While reading Outlander, I often got annoyed if I heard an alert that I had an incoming text. Leave me alone while I’m reading!

Note: If you’ve seen the book series advertised as a simple romance, take a minute to reconsider. Sure, the heart of the story is the romance between Claire and Jamie (which is pretty great, by the way), but the story wouldn’t be half as interesting if it didn’t also feature the backdrop of 18th-century Scotland, the horrors of war, and a great ensemble cast of characters.

Now that I’ve finished Outlander, the good news for me is that there are many more books in this series I can look forward to reading. I’ve already purchased the sequel, and I’m excited to dive into it soon. So far, summer is looking pretty great.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

