Book #47: Heart of Darkness, by Joseph Conrad

Thank God for long weekends!

I’m now two weeks into semester three of grad school, and this semester is clearly prepping to kick my butt. I’m doing the best I can to stay ahead in my classes, but I imagine that will be a bit more difficult than usual this time around.

Here’s where the benefit of an extra long weekend comes in. I’m already fortunate enough to have Fridays off, so I made sure to get started on my homework bright and early yesterday morning. Like all casual days of reading, I dove straight into Joseph Conrad’s classic novel Heart of Darkness. I first read it over five years ago during my final year of high school and remembered Heart of Darkness as one of the hardest reading projects I’d ever undertaken. Needless to say, I felt it necessary to give myself enough time to digest it all before we discuss it in my class Wednesday night.

Unexpectedly, I ended up reading the whole book over the course of the day. Heart of Darkness is a deceptively short novel; it’s under 100 pages, but each sentence is packed with so much weight that it’s kind of impossible to read quickly. I started with a brand new copy of the book that’s now marked up on every page to reflect the density of the novel.

I don’t imagine that there’s anything new I can say about Heart of Darkness that the rest of the world hasn’t already said, except to say that it was just as haunting this time around as the first.

Now that this assignment is crossed off my list, I’m just moving along to the next thing. All I can say now is how happy I am to have some extra free time this weekend to get myself all geared up for another busy week.

Leave a Reply

