1989 Nashville hopes and wildest dreams (ah, ah)

My dearest taylorswift,

I’ve never missed one of your tours. I’ve screamed and cried and danced through 9 of your shows since 2009, when I attended the Fearless tour in Louisville with my mom and high school history teacher. What a journey it’s been.

I came to love you first because I loved the Jonas Brothers (so glad you’re all friends again, by the way). Suddenly there was this ethereal blonde girl who sang country songs that somehow resonated with my life. I saw you as someone who could perfectly express all these feelings I’d had or somehow knew even if I’d never been in your situations. Your songs made my normal, small town life feel bigger somehow.

Fearless was the album of the end of high school for me. Love Story was riding to an away football game on one of the first chilly September days. Fifteen was (and still is) the song that brought tears to my eyes when I thought about how tragic and beautiful adolescence can be. Change was the song that made me want to spin around and jump and feel ready to take on the world. The Best Day was the song I sang in front of 300 of my peers at a summer camp when I really missed my mom.

Speak Now was my freshman year of college. Sparks Fly was dancing around my dorm room with my best friend who was just as excited and freaked out by college as me. Dear John was the song I blasted and belted along to on long car rides. Never Grow Up was like the hug I needed when I felt homesick.

Red was all the stress and craziness of the end of college. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together was the song I danced to through the aisles of the bookstore where I worked before going back to school. 22 was (obviously) the anthem of my 22nd birthday. All Too Well was the song that gave me chills the first time I listened to the album. It’s still my favorite you’ve ever written.

1989 is the album of the beginning of my adult life. It’s getting me through grad school and applying to PhD programs. It’s the only CD that’s been in my car since October 2014. Welcome to New York was the sparkly song that accompanied my roommate and me on a visit to New York last December. Blank Space and Bad Blood are the songs I’ll probably still be dancing to by the time album six rolls out. Shake It Off gets me through the days when I think school might kill me. You Are In Love is everything I hope to have in a relationship.

Your songs have made me me. Your music has been the soundtrack of my life for six years. When I’m feeling especially overwhelmed or sad or tired or lonely, you’re always the person I can turn to for comfort, a crazy dance party, or anything in between.

This weekend will be a weird one for me. It’s the first time you’ll be in town and I don’t have tickets. My status as a lowly grad student means I haven’t gotten a paycheck for five months (which is just the worst, right?) and my budget hasn’t exactly been big enough for concert tickets. One of my best friends and I have been desperately trying to figure out how to get ourselves into one of the Nashville shows just to be part of the audience. Any chance you could help us out?

lovelovelove,

Brenna

Leave a Reply

