Book #61: Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes

Happy (belated) Thanksgiving! There’s nothing I enjoy more than a few days at home, though I’d certainly enjoy this time a bit more if there weren’t so many papers looming over my head.

The worst part about being this close to the end of the semester is that I start to want more than anything just to watch TV and movies and read books of my own choosing. So to combat this (admittedly silly) woes, I’ve been trying to keep a reading project or two on the side just for me. It’s usually slow-going, but at least it gives me something fun to focus on. My latest project: Jojo Moyes’s Me Before You, a sweet, sad romance.

I bought the book last weekend on a whim with a recently received birthday gift, and since I’ve been in the mood for a light read to reward myself for finishing the Divine Comedy, this seemed like the perfect treat. I read most of the book over two days, but it’s one you could either speed through or enjoy more slowly. To prevent the risk of spoilers, I’ll say this: the book tells the story of Louisa Clark, a young woman hired to help care for a quadriplegic man named Will. It’s a perfect book if you’re looking for a little escape from life, particularly if you like an escape that includes both romance and tears.

I’m very excited for the film adaptation of the book to come out, which stars Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin, and Matthew Lewis (in other words, everyone will be adorable).  There’s also a recently released sequel to Me Before You, so that will definitely find its way onto my reading list in the near future.

Now, off to power through a boring paper about teaching writing. Hopefully the rest of you have more fulfilling lives than those of us stuck in academia for a few more days…

2 comments

Leave a Reply

