2016 Reading List #11: Career of Evil, by Robert Galbraith

Career of Evil is the third installment in Robert Galbraith’s (a pseudonym for the queen J.K. Rowling) Cormoran Strike series, and it’s just as juicy as its predecessors.

While The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm centered around murder investigations, Career of Evil takes a slightly different approach: an investigation of someone who seems to be directly threatening Cormoran and his assistant, Robin. At the novel’s opening, Robin receives a package delivered to her at work, expecting it to be something relating to her wedding preparations, but the package actually contained a severed human leg.

Yeah, not great.

Cormoran spends the novel investigating three primary suspects from his past who he thinks are most likely to have committed the crime. This book is also different from its predecessors in that there’s a handful of chapters that are told from the killer’s perspective (though readers still aren’t made aware of the killer’s identity until the crux of the novel).

While I’d still say the mystery in The Cuckoo’s Calling has been the most exciting, I really enjoyed the character development that happens in this installment. Readers especially come to learn more about the ever-endearing Robin, and the nature of Robin and Cormoran’s relationship continues to change. We’re also left with a sweet little cliffhanger ending that has me slightly desperate for the fourth book.

Now that the series is three books deep, I’m itching for the supposed miniseries adaptation to just happen already. While I still think my mental casting of Clive Owen as Cormoran Strike is totally spot-on, I’m still at a bit of a loss on Robin. My roommate reminded me (because we’ve had this conversation far too often) that we’d previously decided Lily James could be a good fit, and right now, that’s the best I can come up with. If only people listened to me when casting their fancy series and movies…

Now that the semester is in full swing, I’m alternating a bit between preparing for my oral exam and trying to read or reread as many of the texts on it as possible and indulging in a bit of recreational reading to keep me sane. Last night, I cracked open After You, the sequel to Me Before You that I read last fall. After seeing the unbearably adorable trailer for the movie adaptation, I felt it was time to jump back into that world.

A little light/sad/sweet reading is the perfect antidote to this damn cold weather. Grab a blanket and snuggle up!

 

Leave a Reply

