2016 Reading List #12: After You, by Jojo Moyes

A couple weeks ago, I decided it seemed like the kind of day when I deserved a little treat, so I bought myself After You, the sequel to Jojo Moyes’s heartbreaker, Me Before You, which I read in November.

The fact that the film trailer for Me Before You was released around the same time certainly didn’t help–have you seen how adorable Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin will be?!–so it seemed like the only possible option to buy this novel and dive right into it after finishing my last reading project.

After You made me skeptical at first–if you don’t know how Me Before You ends, I won’t spoil it, but I was afraid this book would try to change my perception of a character I’d grown to love in the first novel.

Thankfully, that didn’t happen. There are two new characters of real prominence introduced in this sequel–Sam and Lily–neither of whom I really knew how to feel about early on, but I was quite happy with them in the end. After You is really more about heroine Louisa’s journey to re-find herself after suffering a loss, and she’s just as compelling as she was the first time around.

After You also isn’t quite the tearjerker that its predecessor was, but it still has a certain bittersweet conclusion that’s bound to leave you a bit misty-eyed. This was the perfect little distraction from my lesson planning and thesis writing, and also a great way to spend a snow day. 🙂

Now I’m returning to slightly more academic pursuits–in preparation for my master’s oral exam, I’m rereading The Importance of Being Earnest, The Glass Menagerie, and Much Ado About Nothing, so look for several new posts in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

